•  

    FAQs

    news
    spacer

    What does Bonne Maman mean?
    Bonne Maman translates to mean “Grandmother” or “Granny”. The brand is aptly named as the preserves and jellies are made from the best natural ingredients found in your (or your Grandmother’s) kitchen, using the same traditional recipe since the brand began.

    Are Bonne Maman® Preserves and Jellies 100% natural?
    YES! All of our preserves are made with the following 100% natural ingredients: fruit, sugar, cane sugar, concentrated lemon juice and fruit pectin. Bonne Maman has no preservatives, no additives, no corn syrup, is sulfite-free and non-GMO Project Verified.

    What’s the difference between Preserves, Jelly and Jam?

    • Preserves are made from cooking whole fruits. Each of Bonne Maman’s recipes in its 15 flavors of preserves ensures that pieces of fruit are present in each jar. Preserves feature a fuller fruit flavor compared to jams.

    • Jellies are made from only the juices of fruits. Jellies offer a uniform texture, are clear, and firm compared to preserves and jams. Bonne Maman produces an assortment of 4 jelly flavors.

    • Jams are made from crushed fruit and fruit puree, not whole fruit. Bonne Maman does not make jams.

    Does Bonne Maman contain high fructose corn syrup?
    NO! Our recipe for Bonne Maman combines brown cane sugar (derived from the cane plant) and sugar derived from beets. This combination of sugars is part of our time-honored all-natural recipe that helps to create the special Bonne Maman flavor and taste.

    Are Bonne Maman® Preserves and Jellies gluten-free?
    YES! All Bonne Maman® Preserves and Jellies are gluten-free. This claim is determined by the fact that all ingredients used in our products have < 20PPM which is required for this claim. Our production facility is therefore gluten-free as well.

    Are Bonne Maman® Preserves and Jellies nut free?
    Our Bonne Maman® Preserves, Jellies and Spreads are made with only fruit, sugar, lemon juice and fruit pectin. None of our recipes use any peanuts or sesame nuts. Our Preserves, Jellies and Spreads are produced in a facility that does also make products containing hazelnuts and chestnuts. We follow highly controlled and strict (HACCP certification) cleaning processes throughout our facility that minimize any risk of nut residue. We recommend that you discuss this information with your physician to evaluate whether Bonne Maman® is right for you and your family.

    What is the shelf life for Bonne Maman® Preserves and Jellies?
    We guarantee the quality of our Preserves and Jellies for two years (24 months) after production (see “Best if used by” date printed on the side of the cap). We recommend that the preserves be refrigerated after opening. Although we do not guarantee our preserves for a specified period of time AFTER they are opened, by storing an open jar with the cap tightly closed in your refrigerator, our preserves should last for several weeks without a problem.

    Are Bonne Maman® Preserves and Jellies Kosher?
    YES. 18 of our 19 flavors of Bonne Maman® Preserves and Jellies are Kosher. The circle U authorization is on the front label of each jar. Only our Muscat Grape Jelly is not Kosher certified. Our preserves are certified by the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America (NY)